Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews (Week of December 7, 2018)

Jake's Take Bitmoji
(Bitmoji property of Jake’s Take)

By: Jacob Elyachar, jakes-take.com

It is hard to believe that I wrote my second to last Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews of 2018! There has been an incredible amount of great (and at times abysmal) music that was released this year.  As usual, I have scoured the iTunes Store and the Internet to talk about the albums and singles that might be talked about this holiday season.  So, let’s get this party started!

(Album cover property of Dirty Hit & Polydor Records)

A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships by The 1975

The 1975 released their third studio album, A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships. The tracks were written by all four members (Matty Healy, Adam Hahn, George Daniel, and Ross MacDonald). Meanwhile, the album’s entire production responsibilities fell to both Daniel and Healy.  This album has a string of radio tailormade hits such as “Love It If We Made It,” the tender “Be My Mistake,” and “It’s Not Living (If It’s Not With You).” The 1975 also recruited the London Community Gospel Choir for three tracks and the late jazz trumpeter Roy Hardgrove for “Sincerity is Scary.”  The only downside to this album is that there were a few songs that should not have been included on the record.  Otherwise, A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships is a good album that will satisfy the 1975’s fanbase and music lovers. B+

Tracks to Download: “Give Yourself A Try,” “Love It If We Made It,” “Sincerity Is Scary,” “Inside Your Mind,” & “It’s Not Living (If It’s Not With You).”

(Album cover property of Def Jam Records) 

The Pains of Growing by Alessia Cara

Singer-songwriter Alessia Cara released her sophomore album: The Pains of Growing. It has been three years since she broke out into the Top 40 with her hit single “Scars to Your Beautiful.”  She reunited with the Pop & Oak production team and worked with new collaborators Jon Levine, No I.D., Rick Nowels, and Ricky Reed on this new record.  Cara stated that The Pains of Growing focused on teenagers entering early adulthood. Ms. Cara is a strong songwriter and if she keeps writing hit after hit,  I predict that she will cement a bright future in the music industry. A-

Tracks to download: “Not Today” “All We Know,” Comfortable,” “Nintendo Game,” & “My Kind.”

(Album cover property of Atlantic Records) 

What is Love? By Clean Bandit

British trio Clean Bandit (cellist-vocalist Grace Chatto, bassist Jack Paterson, and percussionist Luke Patterson) released their sophomore album: What is Love?  The trio recruited a plethora of Top 40 favorites to be a part of their record.  Craig David (“We Were Just Kids”), Demi Lovato (“Solo”), Ellie Goulding (“Mama”), Julia Michaels (“I Miss You”), and Luis Fonsi (“Baby”) are among the artists that participated in the recording process.  What is Love? is probably one of the best dance records of the year! It has a great combination of terrificarrangements, superb collaborations, and fantastic vocals. A

Tracks to download: “Symphony,” “Baby,” “Solo,” “Mama,” “I Miss You,” & “We Were Still Kids.”

(Album cover property of Sony Music Entertainment) 

Dumplin’ (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) by Dolly Parton

The Queen of Country Music teamed up with super music producer Linda Perry to release a soundtrack for the Netflix musical comedy film Dumplin’. While the film includes an all-star ensemble of Jennifer Aniston, Danielle Macdonald, Dove Cameron, and Harold Perrineau, the “Coat of Many Colors” singer-songwriter recruited a plethora of recording artists for this album. Listeners should expect to hear Ms. Parton duet with Sia (“Here I Am”), Mavis Staples (“Why”), Miranda Lambert (“Dumb Blonde”), and Alison Krauss & Rhonda Vincent (“If We Don’t”). Also, Ms. Parton revisited several of her iconic songs and gave them new twists.  The Dumplin’s oundtrack showcased the Kennedy Center Honoree at her finest and would introduce another generation to her impeccable music. A-/A

Tracks to Download: “Here I Am,” “Girl in the Movies,” “Why,” “Dumb Blonde,” & “Two Doors Down (Dumplin’).”


Benny Blanco is one of the best songwriters and producers to come from the Millennial generation. He co-wrote and produced hits for a plethora of artists that include Britney Spears, Ed Sheeran, Justin Bieber, Katy Perry, Kesha, Sia, and the Weeknd. He finally released his first album, FRIENDS KEEP SECRETS. The seven-track debut features a large supporting cast including Brendon Urie, Calvin Harris, Halsey, Khalid, and Ty Dolla $ign.  The record showcases Blanco is ready to finally step into the spotlight as a solo artist and is ready to begin a newchapter in his fabled career. B

Tracks to Download: “Eastside,” “I Found You,”& “Better to Lie.”

(Album cover property of LONDYN)

Love Me Harder” by LONDYN

 Three years ago, I introduced you to LONDYN(Rachel London) with her single: “Runnin’.” She recently released her latest song: “Love Me Harder.” The song features superb EDM beats, hypnotic vocals, and tantalizing lyrics. I think this is a superb track and I think that she is on the right track to conquering the music world. A-

(Song cover property of Michael V. Doane) 

Find Your Way” by Michael V. Doane

It has been a while since I featured friend to the blog, Michael V. Doane, on Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews. Thankfully, he released a brand new track: “Find Your Way.” From the moment that the rock guitar and backing vocals kick in during the first seconds of the track,  listeners will be taken on a wild ride of positivity. “Find Your Way” is a song that needs tobe dominating radio airplay and make people smile. Can’t wait to hear more music from you soon, Michael. A

Artists to Watch:

Jake’s Take’s Artists to Watch is back with several performers that could shake up the recording industry with their unique sound!

That’s Alright” by EBEN

Los Angeles-based singer-songwriter EBEN is currently increasing his presence in the pop music world. He released a new music video, “That’s Alright,” which is a song from his EP, Past Hundred Days. While “That’s Alright” might have similar beats as Bruno Mars’ “That’s What I Like,” EBEN showcases how he deals with stress and overcomes adversity.  He definitely has a place in the music industry and Jake’s Take will definitely keep an eye out for this rising superstar. B+

Moment’s Notice” by Joel Taylor

Multi-instrumentalist Joel Taylor relocated to Los Angeles from his native Sydney, Australia to pursue a music career. He caught the attention of several major artists and is currently crafting his debut EP.  One song that will get audiences ready for him is “Moment’s Notice.” This superb song is about escaping the toxicity of his home life and arriving in the US to pursue his dream of becoming a singer-songwriter. Between his powerful lyrics and strong arranging skills, I believe that there are great things ahead for Mr. Taylor. B+

You Do It” by Maddy Newton

Singer-songwriter Maddy Newton is closing out this second to last 2018 edition of Jake’s Take’s New Music Reviews. The Nashville singer-songwriter is amassing a presence on social media with over 55,300 followers on Twitter and her YouTube videos have been viewed over 1.3 million times. Her latest single, “You Do It,” is a brilliant piece of ear candy that captured the Radio Disney airwaves. The lyrics and the song’s sunny disposition will put smiles on listeners’ faces. A-

I do not own any of the clips that are featured in this article. They belong to the artists and their respective record labels.

Speak Your Mind


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright 2019 Jacob Elyachar